Stomach flu and Security Deposit

Jill96
Level 5
Balgowlah, Australia

Stomach flu and Security Deposit

Hi There, 
I've been running a one bedroom airbnb for the past 14 months and not once had any issues with guests.  In fact everyone has been wonderful, not even had a glass broken.
I have an elderly couple staying here at the moment and unfortunately the gentlemen took ill last night with stomach flu and actually passed out in the timber floor area and vomited in the kitchenette area over my rug etc.  I felt very sorry for him as he had to have an ambulance called and he's here visiting his daughter who is about to have a new baby.  They are a lovely couple.
They check out tomorrow and I have had to throw out a rug worth $100 to replace, I also have to organise for the place to be cleaned thoroughly with bleach as it's the only way to kill the bug on surfaces.  The whole kitchenette area has open plan shelving so I will have to wash everything including all the plates, cutlery etc. I have also had to block out the next two days after they depart so I can get the carpets and mattress steam cleaned and leave enough time for them to dry. The floor hadn't been cleaned properly and his wife was walking in and out of the bedroom onto the carpet.
I do have a $600 security deposit attached to their booking, but how can I prove germs?  I can take a photo of the rug which I have had to throw out but the whole cleaning process and loss of business is arguable.
So do I just grin and bear it as part of the business or do I take it further and put in a claim?  All up including the lost business it will cost about $656 before my extra cleaning time. ($100 rug, $206 carpet cleaner, $350 lost nights, plus my extra cleaning hours)
I don't want to ruin their holiday!
Thanks,
Jill

13 Replies 13
Alexandra316
Level 10
Lincoln, Canada

Hello,