Taxes

Answered!
Michael5901
Level 2
Mississauga, Canada

Taxes

Hi. I am new to Hosting. In Ontario, Canada.

Does anyone have suggestions on how to claim Airbnb income? It's a family cottage. Both my parents are retired. So if they were to claim, they would get hit with high taxes because of their low pensions. If I claim, then I pay the taxes, but I don't get full use of the earnings as they are split for cottage expenses.

I have heard of opening a corporation so that I can claim under that and it's just a number. Not sure how that works.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Mike

1 Best Answer
M199
Level 10
South Bruce Peninsula, Canada

@Michael5901 

In Ontario and Canada rentals are not regular income but rather specifically Rental Income.

You should like consult with a professional accountant.  Also, remember that of your change to a rental, it will quite likely impact your capital gains status and various other tax legislations.

Dig deep to get all the knowledge you can.  Also, continue to follow this CC for very real information.

View Best Answer in original post

18 Replies 18
M199
Level 10

@Michael5901 

In Ontario and Canada rentals are not regular income but rather specifically Rental Income.

You should like consult with a professional accountant.  Also, remember that of your change to a rental, it will quite likely impact your capital gains status and various other tax legislations.

Dig deep to get all the knowledge you can.  Also, continue to follow this CC for very real information.

M199
Level 10

@Michael5901

😖...  likely consult. ..

Pamela989
Level 1
Riverview, FL

Hello I live in Tampa, FL and I have my first guests, it is so exciting but I am confused on the tax issue. I understand  that AirBnB will access a 13% tax on the guests, but are there any other taxes and fees collected  and am I responsible for collecting any type of taxes or fees???