Theft of small items

Alicia828
Level 2
Sydney, Canada

Theft of small items

Hello. I’m new to hosting so I’m hoping someone can give me advice. I had a guest for two nights who stole one of my towels, multiple dish towels, and left a tear in my couch. I was able to fix the couch and the towels are not a huge deal so I’m not going to call the police or anything. But my issue is that I want to leave him a terrible review so no one else allows him to do the same. He lives only 30 minutes from me and I’m worried that he will find out. Is there a way to warn other hosts without the guest being aware? I know it sounds odd but it’s myself and my son living above this Airbnb. 

thank you for your help! ❤️

4 Replies 4
Colleen253
Level 10
Alberta, Canada

@Alicia828  It’s understandable, your hesitation to leave an honest review, given what you’ve shared. Your fellow hosts do appreciate your desire to do so anyway.  "Is there a way to warn other hosts without the guest being aware?" I'm afraid not. This is how reviews work on Airbnb,

https://www.airbnb.ca/help/article/13/reviews-for-stays

The thing is, if missing towels and a couch tear were the worst of the guest’s transgressions, I’m not sure a ‘terrible’ review is warranted (though  it would have been nice for the guest  to inform you of the damaged couch). Once you’ve had a guest throw a huge party, trash your home and/or steal the tv, smaller incidents like missing tea towels are often put into perspective. 

Was this guest new to Airbnb and perhaps a bit uninitiated in the etiquette of being a guest? Is it possible the guest used the towels for cleaning up some messes and they were ruined in the process and they threw them out?