Unreasonable Guests

Marianne51
Level 2
New Mexico, US

Unreasonable Guests

Wow, my first unreasobable guests and it hurts. I have a cute older home with pool and garage and nice amenities. I charge less than one room at a hotel and have a superhost co-host since I'm an out of state owner of this cute Floria bungalow.  I am new to hosting and my place is often booked through other sources. But had 3 Airbnb guests give 5 stars. The recent 2 ladies did not communicate to my welcoming messages and then a few days after their arrival, sent a terse "list" of problems stating "and that's just what we found so far". A few complaints were for amenities I speficially did not have listed, others, their own errors like they couldn't find the volume on the TV remote. Each complaint was delivered as though I was a bad child who needed punishment for erring. Most were for items they didn't even care about such as a 4th stove burner which we showed them did work and then they said "well we weren't going to cook anyway". I felt battered in a no-win situation as even solutions were scoffed at. I suggested twice to let them out of their booking and return their $$. I reminded them that a single room in winter at a florida hotel costs more than my 3/2 1500 sf house with pool, garage in the historic district. I asked for Airbnb to intervene when they claimed there were fleas biting (only one of them). The guest a week prior gave us a 5 star rating and NONE of the problems these guests had including no complaints about fleas. But we immediately bombed the entire house, re-cleaned, tested for fleas (none of course) and got no positive resolve from them ...they just went on to more issues. Of course after all our trouble they left us 2 stars. There goes my superhost rating. I cannot honestly believe they were so unkind. Each room has my attentive loving care.... I washed floors by hand, every possible item they may need was available: soaps, paper products, pool/excursion items, 6 rooms