Unverified Guests sending inquiries- Do I pre-approve or decline the request?

Michelle185
Level 2
Malacca, Malaysia

Unverified Guests sending inquiries- Do I pre-approve or decline the request?

Hi, I have recently started hosting for about a month now and I am still new to it. I have encountered some issues and need advices.

This week itself, I have received 2 inquiries from 2 unverified guests with profile photos that I can't identify their faces. Both requested me to communicate with them through their Facebook/ WeChat/ Phone Number (although it can't be seen before booking) which I had politely rejected and insisted to communicate through Airbnb. For cases like this, how do I get them to verify their ID? Also, in this situation, do I have to pre-approve/decline the inquiry within 24 hours? Do I get penalty for declining inquiries like this? I am not sure if I should pre-approve or decline inquiries like this!

I would appreciate it if someone can clear my doubts, thank you!

4 Replies 4
Mariane1
Level 1
Fitzroy, Australia

Hi Michelle,

We recently had a very bad experience with guests and they were verified! I would never accept an unverified guest and you have done the right thing by insisting on communicating via Airbnb. I would decline the request.  When you do you will be asked why you are declining and you can provide a reason from the choices available. I am not sure if 'Unverified' exists as a reason but I think there is something about 'Not feeling right about the guest'. I would choose the most appropriate option.  You won't be penalised in any way for declining the request.

Based on our previous experience, we will be much more careful with who we accept and only take people who are verified and have positive reviews.

All the best,

Mariane and Tim

Dear Mariane & Tim,

Thanks for answering, I know what do now, it certainly don't feel right to accept unverified guests! Great to know I won't be penalised for declining their inquries!

Ira4