Verify ID now required for all travelers?

Ramona11
Level 4
Naples, FL

Verify ID now required for all travelers?

Has anyone else run up against a requirement to use Verify ID no matter who you are booking with? For security reasons I do not with to keep my ocs on file and link my airbnb profile with my fb page. So I have not been able to book with any hosts now, and the hosts are not the ones imposing the requirement. as a Super Host myself, I think this is going to really hurt my business. Anyone know anything? Thanks!

490 Replies 490
Oscar753
Level 1
Dallas, TX

Don't do it.  Identify theft is certain. 

Oscar753
Level 1
Dallas, TX

I canceled a one-week stay because of this awfully invasive policy.  I have been using AirBnb for ten years.  No more.  

Mark3614
Level 2
England, United Kingdom

I've been with them for around 10 year as a host and even longer as a guest.  I will not be using them in future and I'm sure there's thousands of people who won't be either.

I have no issue with showing a host my ID on arrival or even sending a selfie of it, but I am getting sick and tired of the way that internet giants come up with new and innovative ways of trying to find out more about me than they need to (mostly so that they can waste my time with adverts).

Sayanora, AirBnB. And, to the many hosts out there - keep up the good work (but on a competitor's site, please...)

Andrea5188
Level 1
La Verne, CA

I too, am dismayed by this request to verify my identity.  Apparently, multiple bookings and stellar reviews aren’t enough anymore.   I would have no problem providing ID upon arrival -this is standard practice at hotels and while traveling abroad - but numerous Airbnb places I’ve stayed at had hosts that weren’t home and left instructions for entry.  
I’m not going to electronically submit ID to Airbnb - encryption or not.   So I guess this is the end of the road for me.