Verifying Guests

Paula40
Level 2
Yarmouth, MA

Verifying Guests

Hello!

Let me start off by saying I'm new to hosting and have not hosted anyone yet but I have accepted some requests for next month. I'm a little uneasy and unclear about the verification process. I've seen others post about verified badges but I'm not sure what I should be looking for. I have a pending request currently for a young man that has Verified listed on his page but the logo doesnt look like the one listed in Help and Training. It's just a green blob with a white checkmark in it--is that what I should be looking for or are there "levels" of verification? He has 4 items listed in his Verified ID box (email, phone, Facebook, Offline ID) but none of that info is available to me. So what does that really mean? He has no personal information and it doesnt show his  last name so I cannot do any further investigating myself. Why is that?

15 Replies 15
Stephanie6
Level 10
Boulder, CO

Hi @Paula40, Before accepting his reservation, I would ask him to tell me the purpose of his visit (work, visiting friends, tourism, etc.).  If the reservation is for more than one guest you should ask who will be staying with him.  He probably is new to airbnb does not realize that he should complete his profile so hosts will be more likely to accept his booking requests.

I have had good experiences with guests who were not reviewed.  However, I did find out the purpose of their visit before accepting the reservation.  I had to turn off instant book because some guests do not provide that information even though the booking form is clear that the information is needed.