Very first guest arrived 5 hours early

Very first guest arrived 5 hours early

Hello,

Today I’ve had my first guest check in …however, they’ve arrived 5 hours early. I messaged last and this morning and clearly stated check in was at 4pm. I also gave them the door code this morning so they clearly read the message. 

I ran to my car after being inside and when I got to my car I heard the beeps on the door lock. I thought that was strange. Then I went back in at to finish up cleaning and they were there. I mentioned the check in time and the guy just said “oh.. oooops”. I told them it was ok as everything was ready for them but I’m very annoyed and upset. 

Can someone please advise me what the best action for this is? I don’t want a bad review but I don’t want this dude to get one over on me, in my property. 

Do I leave a review stating what happened? 

21 Replies 21
Dee1153
Level 3
England, United Kingdom

That's pretty rude.  I am pretty new to hosting but am bending over backwards for the guests we have had - including letting them check out in a relaxed fashion maybe an hour or two after the stated check out time.  (10am) This would definitely have caught me out!  I would mention it in the review.  They should be made aware this is not acceptable