What to do when your cleaning team can't do the job?

Mike2242
Level 2
Virginia, United States

What to do when your cleaning team can't do the job?

I've been hosting #NantahalaVacations for several years and have come across this problem multiple times. This past weekend, despite having a rock solid cleaning team, a backup team, and a backup to the backup team, nobody was available to clean between guests. I currently live 10 hours from my cabins and completely rely on the local talent.  On this particular weekend I knew that my cleaning team would be out of town. I didn't see any issues with it, because historically speaking, we get very few renters the first few weeks of January.  But, I got a last minute instant booking for a one night guest. The next day, I already had a confirmed booking. So I immediately sent a message to my backup cleaning team to insure the cabin could be turned around in such a short amount of time.  I received a haunting reply that they were unavailable. Then in a frantic rush, I reached out to my backup's backup team.  They were also unavailable!  So what does any good host do at this point? They communicate honestly with the guests effected by the situation. I offered to refund their stay if they chose to cancel, or, I could refund them the cleaning fee if they agreed to clean up after the guest in front of them.  With a warning that I wouldn't know what the state of the cabin would be in after a single night stay, but that we have a washer and dryer in the cabin as well as extra linens and towels, the guest agreed to do the cleaning themselves.  It's never an ideal situation,and it's a terrible way to start a vacation, but it's better than canceling on the guest. Sometimes it works out great.  Sometimes you hear back that things were worse than you anticipated. As a super host, we're terrified to get a bad review and the likelihood of getting one on a situation like this is higher.  Fortunately, we work with some incredible guests who