When do guests have to pay for their booking?

Answered!

When do guests have to pay for their booking?

Good evening. I am new to airbnb and have been asked from a prospective guest when they have to pay for their booking? Also does airbnb require full payment immediately or do they pay a deposit upfront nd then the balance. Do they pay when the booking is made or just prior to the booked date?

Any help would be gratefully received.

James

1 Best Answer
Jeff158
Level 10
Caernarfon, United Kingdom

Hi James

Full payment at the time of booking or a deposit at the time of booking and a later payment are the 2 options available.

And you won't get paid until 24hrs after the guest arrives.

View Best Answer in original post

15 Replies 15
Jeff158
Level 10
Caernarfon, United Kingdom

Hi James

Full payment at the time of booking or a deposit at the time of booking and a later payment are the 2 options available.

And you won't get paid until 24hrs after the guest arrives.

Thanks Jeff. Just what I needed

When do guests pay the deposit and how much and when is the balance due? How do you set this up on the adverts?

Hello @Julia417,

The host can't set it up. It seems to be a facility offered by Airbnb to guests in some countries.

If it's available to the guest, they see the option, on their booking page, to pay a deposit when they're about to make a reservation.

There's no setting for hosts to enable payment of a booking deposit on their listing.

Steve.

Steve,

Thank you for your reply, does this mean that guests booking accommodation in the UK pay the full amount when they book regardless of how far away their stay is?

Julia

Hello @Julia417,

Not necessarily. It doesn't matter where the acommodation is. It's a facility offered to guests in certain countries or regions. It depends only on where the guest lives.

Guests in some countries appear to be offered this facility no matter where the accommodation they're booking is.