Who else is tired of how Airbnb treats hosts as opposed to guests?

Answered!
Chadia5
Level 2
Boise, ID

Who else is tired of how Airbnb treats hosts as opposed to guests?

Hi,

I’m fairly new to hosting on Airbnb but I was a guest for a long time before I started hosting. So I know how Airbnb works, and it’s a shame that I’m here so upset at Airbnb without having hosted for even a full year.

I became a superhost only after about 3 months of hosting, thanks to the 30-something great reviews. We really did put in a lot of work in creating our guest bedrooms. Despite this, we still got two bad ratings, which is to be expected. What’s maddening, however, is both guests left wonderful public and private reviews, but went forth and gave us low ratings, one for bathroom cleanliness (a 4 star) and one for communication (a 2 star). Now at face value, this seems fine. But it is my opinion that context matters. So I’ll explain: When the first guest was staying with us, she was on her period (I know this because she left our bedsheets stained with blood and because of the bloody pads and tampons I later found in the trash). One day, she messaged me to tell me that the toilet was clogged and that it was gross. We immediately fixed it and apologized. I then messaged her to let her know that the problem was fixed and reminded her not to flush any tampons or pads. She responded later and said that she understood. Our toilet had never been clogged before that day and hasn’t since then. A weird coincidence!