Why do I need to buy Ebay Gift cards to pay for my reservation?

Why do I need to buy Ebay Gift cards to pay for my reservation?

I'm trying to make a reservation, but I'm apparently supposed to pay with Ebay Gift Cards? Is this a common practice on Airbnb? Or is it a choice made by the host? This is my first time trying to use Airbnb or Ebay cards and talking with the host and Airbnb representative is sending up red flags. My Airbnb account won't let me add a payment method, either, which I was very surprised about. I expected this website to work like any other hotel site but apparently not. If anyone has any insights or advice, it would be much appreciated! I don't want to buy $1,000 worth of non-refundable gift cards and use them on Airbnb only to get scammed.

9 Replies 9
Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Brandy51  I never heard of such a thing. Did you find this host on the official Airbnb site or somewhere else? Can you post a link to the listing? It defintely sounds like you're being scammed.

Wilson96
Level 1
Toronto, Canada

I believe this is a scam. Is this host asking to pay with ebay gift cards? Airbnb accepts all major credit cards and paypal.

Marie82
Level 10
New South Wales, Australia

@Brandy51  my god that smell a big scam anyone who will ask you to paid outside ABB flag the profile and contact ABB immediately 

Cormac0
Level 10
Kraków, Poland

@Brandy51 

Ask yourself one simple question, how will Airbnb get there fee if you pay by "eBay cards", it a scam plain and simple, do not engage further period.

https://airbnb.co-superb-and-amazing-two-bedrooms-two-baths.com/1/listing/152/view-glht3bjz/XVqo6prQ...