Why is it so slow

Ebony48
Level 2
Maple Heights, OH

Why is it so slow

I’m new to hosting and I’m getting kind of worried. Is it normal for it to be super slow around this time in Houston ???I haven’t got a booking in 2 weeks 

5 Replies 5
Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Ebony48  I'm not sure what the deal is with everything lit up dark purple in your photos, but it's pretty strange and off-putting. I would change those photos if I were you. 

I don't know otherwise why you wouldn't be getting bookings, but Airbnb does give a boost in search ranking to new listings, so maybe you are now appearing lower in search. I imagine Houston is a pretty competitive market and there are actually far more Airbnb listings the world over than guests to fill them.

Ebony48 I don't know about Houston specifically, but even when Covid wasn't a factor, January has always been the quietest month for city tourism in the northern hemisphere. People are getting back into work or school mode after the holidays, weather conditions are iffy,  post-Christmas budgets are tight, and major festive occasions are still a ways off. With the current Omicron wave, you now also have a tsunami of cancellations upending short-term plans, and too much uncertainty for many to commit to longer range bookings that aren't fully refundable. You can probably expect business to continue being slow for at least the next month or two, unless there's a major local event coming up in your area.