Why reservation was cancelled by host

Vinnie1
Level 2
Fairfax, VA

Why reservation was cancelled by host

Hi Everyone!

I'm new to the Airbnb Community Discussion Room but not to Airbnb as a guest. Through the years, countries, and states that I have searched my travel lodging needs, I have never had an issue with any hosts, until now. I have recently began searching for lodging for my upcoming trip for 3 people. I found a nice apartment that fits just that and in the perfect location to where I want to visit. The apartment is listed as an Instant Book, which I understand that the Host can reject the reservation, but never have I heard of it happening nor have I experienced it myself.

So here is where my issue began:

10:38PM: My booking was confirmed

11:23PM: The host writes back with, "." (only a period)

11:23PM: The host cancelled my reservation

11:46PM: I thought this was a mistake so I rebooked the apartment

12:01AM: The host responds, "Sorry, I am Uncomfortable with the reservation"

12:01AM: The host cancelled my reservation

06:08AM: I sent the host a message saying, "Hi [name disclosed], is there a reason for the cancellation for those 3 days?"

12:29PM: The host responds, "I'm going with another booking request. Thank you"

12:33PM: I sent the host a message saying, "Is there an explanation for why you feel uncomfortable with the reservation?"

The time is now 03:30PM and I have yet to hear back from them. After making the first reservation, the host had requested a short description of who was staying, how old they were, and what the purpose of the stay was. I did so by reply that it would be myself, my younger sibling, [age], their friend, [age] and that we were taking a road trip.