basic house rules

Krystal6
Level 1
Colorado Springs, CO

basic house rules

Hi there,

I am new to this process and am curious to know if anyone is willing to share some of their basis house rules so I may prepare a house rules book.  Obviously, I have thought of no smoking, no pets, etc., but a looking for help in outlining rules that I may not be thinking about since I am new.

I am also curious to know how you handle locking the house.  Do you give the guests a key?  (future security concern) Did you install a coded door knob/lock?  Do you shut your own master bedroom door and/or other bedroom doors? 

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Krystal **

Colorado Springs, CO 

11 Replies 11
Clare0
Level 10
Templeton, CA

@Krystal6 One of the best ways is to do a search of similar listings to your and check out what they have for House Rules.  The House Rules for an Entire Home will be much different than for a listing for a private or shared room. Check it out. 

We added no parties. It seems to be a thing.

Sarah-and-Jaryd0
Level 1
Calgary, Canada

Hi Krystal,

For house rules its usually good to reiterate the max number of guests allowed in the space and no parties.

We installed a keyless entry lock where we provide guests with a code and reprogram it each time. Its really easy to do and allows them to let themselves in without the hassle of keys.
Ramzy1
Level 1
Cairo, EG

Well, check this out. I always put it in my listing.
1. The Owner has the right to inspect the premises without prior notice at any time to enforce the terms of this agreement. Should the Guests violate any of the terms of this agreement, the rental period shall be terminated immediately. The Guests waive all rights to process if they fail to vacate the premises upon termination of the rental period. The Guests shall vacate the premises at the expiration time and date of this agreement.