hosting service dogs

Kindra1
Level 1
Portland, OR

hosting service dogs

I have booked my home to a couple with a service dog (I have a no pet policy) but for a service dog I am ok, how do i verify/know that this is in actuality a service animal and that I am dealing with respectable people, Is there a tactful way to have this type of conversation?  Any suggestions are appreciated.

I am new to airbnb and trying to educate myself here. 

9 Replies 9

Go to this website and type in the 10 digit code on their certification papers 

https://www.usservicedogregistry.org

Glad to know this. I have not yet had a booking with someone who had a service dog, but I copied the link you offered for future reference. 

@Kindra1

This thread seems to have covered quite a bit on this subject.  

https://community.airbnb.com/t5/New-Hosts/Service-Dogs-beware/m-p/63265/highlight/true#M6796

Don't ask--its illegal to ask questions about service dogs in Oregon.

Gerry-And-Rashid0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

Hi Kindra - service dogs are not considered to be pets. Also, in many countries it is illegal to quiz people about their need for a service animal, or suggest that they need to prove it is a service animal. I would just accept the booking at its face value - it will be pretty obvious if someone turns up with a pet rather than a service animal.

We don't allow pets, but I would be very happy to think we were able to host someone with a service animal given the difficulties people face day to day just getting around on public transport, or shopping, or eating out.

Andrea9
Level 10
Amsterdam, Netherlands

@Kindra1

Under https://www.ada.gov/service_animals_2010.htm

it says:

"