service dog

Barb6
Level 10
Stevensville, MI

service dog

This is from a potential guest.

I have a seizure disorder and have a service animal that is trained to get help and assist me in case of a problem. Autumnis a Lagotto Romagnolo dog ~30lbs. She is extremely friendly and she does not shed at all, and does not produce any dander either. And I just gave her a bath so she smells lovely, even though she doesn't really ever smell bad.
I know that technically I didn't have to say anything and you can't refuse based on the service animal but I just wanted to let you know and will let you decide whether you can accommodate. I hope to hear from you soon!

On Profile page of potential guest.
I am a 4th year medical student. My girlfriend is an attorney. We have an amazing little furball named Autumn. She is a tiny 30lb Lagotto Romagnolo and is training to be a truffle hunter!

I have a no pet policy. What are my choices here? 

64 Replies 64
Linda108
Level 10
La Quinta, CA

@Barb6  There are several very detailed discussion threads about hosting and service dogs on this site.  Please read them.  Bottom line, you cannot legitimately refuse the dog. Emphasis on the word "legitimately" I think the message from the guest demonstrates an extraordinary sensitivity and while I have a no pet policy as well due to my own dog on the premises, I might be tempted to host these guests.

I have read the threads about the pets. I feel that it is not a legtimate service dog, per their profile.

I found out you can deny......because the fact is that hosts who are in-home hosts and who offer a room in their home (not a whole separate apartment) , and who offer no more than 5 rooms for rent in their home, can in fact legally discriminate based on the presence of a service animal, in the USA at least.

What if the guest stay is having a boyfriend visit, who by the way is not on our reservation, who has a service dog?  And staying for a week.  Do I say no? He is not part of our booking .