service fee charged to host and guest? correct??

Answered!
Bronwyn23
Level 1
Christchurch, New Zealand

service fee charged to host and guest? correct??

Hi I am new to hosting on airbnb in New Zealand .  On my first booking airbnb  have charged the guest my price of  3 x night  total $750.00  plus the cleaning fee $125.00 plus the service fee $30.19  

I expected Airbnb to pay me  the $750 plus the $125.00 equals $875.00 but Airbnb are paying me $844.81.

Which means they are  getting the  service fee  from the guest and also from me      Airbnb are actually getting $60.38.  Is this correct or have they made a mistake.??   

Any feed back would be appreciated.  

I also think its really frustrating that there is no way to directly contact Airbnb with these queries  

Any feedback appreciated

Thanks Bron

1 Best Answer

@Bronwyn23 - not a mistake at all.  The amount of the host service fee is generally 3%. Airbnb charges guests a service fee between 5% and 15% of the reservation subtotal (you won't likely see this amount anywhere). Guests see this fee on the checkout page before they book a reservation. 

Here's more info in the Help Center. 

https://www.airbnb.com/help/article/1857/what-are-airbnb-service-fees

View Best Answer in original post

37 Replies 37
David126
Level 10
Como, CO

The service fee paid by the guest is a lot more than $30.19 so yes something is wrong.

David

@Bronwyn23 - not a mistake at all.  The amount of the host service fee is generally 3%. Airbnb charges guests a service fee between 5% and 15% of the reservation subtotal (you won't likely see this amount anywhere). Guests see this fee on the checkout page before they book a reservation. 

Here's more info in the Help Center.