service fee charged to host and guest? correct??

Answered!
Bronwyn23
Level 1
Christchurch, New Zealand

service fee charged to host and guest? correct??

Hi I am new to hosting on airbnb in New Zealand .  On my first booking airbnb  have charged the guest my price of  3 x night  total $750.00  plus the cleaning fee $125.00 plus the service fee $30.19  

I expected Airbnb to pay me  the $750 plus the $125.00 equals $875.00 but Airbnb are paying me $844.81.

Which means they are  getting the  service fee  from the guest and also from me      Airbnb are actually getting $60.38.  Is this correct or have they made a mistake.??   

Any feed back would be appreciated.  

I also think its really frustrating that there is no way to directly contact Airbnb with these queries  

Any feedback appreciated

Thanks Bron

1 Best Answer

@Bronwyn23 - not a mistake at all.  The amount of the host service fee is generally 3%. Airbnb charges guests a service fee between 5% and 15% of the reservation subtotal (you won't likely see this amount anywhere). Guests see this fee on the checkout page before they book a reservation. 

Here's more info in the Help Center. 

https://www.airbnb.com/help/article/1857/what-are-airbnb-service-fees

View Best Answer in original post

37 Replies 37

This has been very helpful in understand what is going on, but can anyone tell me WHY the guest fee is such a secret and well hidden from hosts ?  It feels a bit sneaky and dirty to me - and thus out of character for Airbnb. What happened to transparency ?

@Richard856

Seems there is an EU requirement to introduce transparency, not sure if it will impact non EU locations.

David

Totally agree with you Richard!

I agree and as a new host, Air BNB is posting to charge a 20% service charge to my guests. 

Natalie859
Level 2
New South Wales, Australia

I completely agree. Airbnb is being shady 

Lynette57
Level 10
Gladstone, Australia