trouble getting reimbursed for dealing with smoking damage

Elyria0
Level 1
Mumbai, India

trouble getting reimbursed for dealing with smoking damage

Hi all -

I’ve been hosting with airbnb since 2013, and about 2 months ago was the first time I ever had a guest smoke in my nonsmoking listing. Since then I’ve been in communication with Airbnb support almost every day… and they just came out saying that damage from smoking isn’t physical damage, so they won’t reimburse me for getting smoke mitigation to address the awful smell of pot mixed with cigarettes. Has this happened to anyone else? Am I just talking with the wrong department or using the wrong words to describe the party this guest hosted in my listing? I’m at the end of my rope after two months of patiently trying to explain how much damage this guest did as I get shuffled from person to person, I really hope nobody else has had this happen because it’s been the worst part of hosting with Airbnb I’ve ever encountered. Thoughts, ideas, experiences?

thanks all!!

Elyria

4 Replies 4
Gordon0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

Back in the day, and well before the pandemic, I suffered the same issue. Airbnb coughed up (NPI) and helped with dry-cleaning costs to rid the room of nicotine. I've since heard other hosts struggle to get the same engagement (or indeed money). Try again with a different agent, @Elyria0?

Thanks for sharing your experience @Gordon0 ! I'll work on that. It is really good to know this isn't a one-off problem, but something Airbnb seems to struggle with in general. Seems like it would be better all around for hosts and support folks if they had better guidance on reimbursing this sort of damage. I appreciate your time!