washing sheets and towels after hosting

Yara1
Level 1
New York, NY

washing sheets and towels after hosting

Dear Community, I am new to this. Is it normal to ask guests when they leave to strip the beds and leave sheets and towels on the machine? Do you ask them to wash and dry them or just leave them for the host to wash and dry afterwards?

35 Replies 35
Corey3
Level 2
Vancouver, Canada

IMO if you are charging a cleaning fee, then the guests shouldn't have to do any of that. Most guests would feel rightly put out having to clean after having paid for it to be done. If you have no cleaning fee, I'd emphasize that stripping beds or whatever cleaning you want done is a house rule, but be prepared to have people not do it. Personally, I'd just charge a cleaning fee and do it myself.

Most people don't go on vacation expecting to clean bedsheets.

For standard NYC Airbnb apartment rentals, I agree with Corey's comment 100%. And honestly, cleaning fee or no cleaning fee, keep it mind also that it would only take you 2-10 minutes max to strip all of the sheets & collect all towels in the house (depending on number of rooms), which is basically nothing, so having a guest do it doesn't really save you any time--and, as Corey said, it's a task that no one traveling wants to do and may leave them with a bad taste.

Think about it: if the very last thing a guest has to do before you leaving your apartment is strip the sheets, the negativity of the experience could be the tiny bit to compel him or her to give you 4 stars instead of 5 when they get the "Review Your Host" email a few hours later.