How often there are Guest Cancellations

How often there are Guest Cancellations

Good day Member, I'm new to hosting on Airbnb and just returned from from first trip using the services, since signing up I had numeros inquires and also had two confirm booking, one was for later this month and one was for last sunday gone, to my dispointment last sunday about an hour before chin in time the guest cancell without any mesages and while trying to figure out what was happending I got a second email from the other guest who had book a few weeks ahead of cancellation also, at that moment I was really feeling down, because I rent my property short and long term by myself and had turn down a good short term cash offer because I had airbnb booking, I'm wondering is this is regular thing and how can this be solved and can anyone give me thereir advice if they had similar problems?

7 Replies 7
Amy459
Level 5
Bigfork, MT

Hey Jason, 

I remember my first few reservations also cancelled last minute. I felt extremely discouraged. I think listings with no reviews, or very few reviews make guests a little nervous. Once you have a few people stay that leave positive reviews I believe you will see a dramatic decrease in the amount of guests that cancel on you. My suggestion to get those first few people to actually commit to a reservation would be to take great, well-lit photos of your listing, and to answer any inquiries or confirmed bookings with a professional, and informative response. Good luck!

Hi Jason,