18 year old looking to rent with 5 guests

Randy113
Level 2
Philadelphia, PA

18 year old looking to rent with 5 guests

I had a young 18 year old reach out to me to stay at my place during the week with 5 guests total. He did not have any profile information, any linked accounts and did not provide me with any information regarding his stay. I was a bit hesitant at first to approve him, and ultimately asked him to provide more information .

He states him and his friends are coming to town for a ball game and that there are 5 guests that are all 18-19 year olds. He added a picture but did not link any other accounts. Given that I am new to hosting, I wanted to see what everyones experience was and if I will lose search rankings if I deny him?

Looking forward to your suggestions and help as I consider this!

Regards,

Randy

12 Replies 12
Suzanne302
Level 10
Wilmington, NC

@Randy113 I'm still a new host but would be nervous about 5 18-19-year-olds. Especially since you are not on the property.

I rent a room in my home and I've had a 19-year-old couple stay with me...couldn't have been nicer and were extremely respectful of my home. I currently have two 20ish girls staying with me and they, too, are extremely polite and respectful. But it's probably different since I am on-site.

There are a couple other threads on the topic of how to "discourage" a guest from booking. I think one host suggested laying out the rules in no short detail in a message, or putting something in there you know they probably won't want to agree to. That saves you the trouble of having to decline the request. Sorry I can't recall which thread that was.

Hopefully someone else can chime in with a good suggestion!