90 day limit London Submitting Planning Approval

Jody29
Level 1
London, United Kingdom

90 day limit London Submitting Planning Approval

Hi, like many hosts in London I am studying the new 90 day limit and trying to work out the best (legal) way of working within this new framwork. Back in December when AirBnB wrote to all hosts (see email titled Important information: Hosting in London sent on 1/12/2016), they made it clear that if hosts wanted to host 365 days a year they would be able to overcome the 90 day limit if they had the correct planning conscent i.e. short-let/holiday apartments. I have begun the process of this application to my local council (Haringey) and my planning consultant is quite assured that it will be granted. However, I cannot see anywhere on the AirBnB site where I can submit the planning approval, so that the 90 limit is lifted. Does anyone have any thoughts? 

Here is the relevant section from the email

"The new measures will begin from 2017. If you want to host more often, you will need to certify that you have permission to do so or apply for the relevant permissions from your local council."

Where can I "certify" then?

Any thoughts?

16 Replies 16
Helen3
Level 10
Bristol, United Kingdom

Hi @Jody29

Probably the quickest and easiest way to find out, if they haven't given you a contact email,  would be to give them a call.

Mario149
Level 2
Naples, Italy

Hi Jodi. I'm an Italian host in London. I have read this morning about this bad news and onestly I did not get any mail on Airbnb on this regards. So I started looking for some more infos and I found this on Airbnb:

I have permission to host beyond 90 nights. How do I keep my listing open to bookings?

You'll be able to notify the system of your permission in spring 2017. No listings will be limited until the mechanism for providing this is communicated.

Sophie40
Level 2
London, United Kingdom

Hi Jody