A Total Newbie

Adrian2250
Level 2
England, United Kingdom

A Total Newbie

Hi - I have never done airbnb before so am looking for advice before I furnish. I am letting a double bedroom with a private bathroom. The question is about the size and type of bed. The room is a bit of a funny shape (14 foot by 12 foot narrowing to 7 feet) and so am thinking of getting a standard double metal bed frame with a good quality mattress - rather than a king size bed with soft headboard (worried about them staining) and a hanging rail rather than a wardrobe. Do people get complaints about standard doubles being too small or lack of a comfy headboard? Thanks.

5 Replies 5
Helen3
Level 10
Bristol, United Kingdom

I use a standard double with a wooden frame. Get the best mattress you can afford. I use Eve. @Adrian2250 

Americans tend to be more fussy and prefer Kings and Queen beds. Here in Europe a double is fairly standard.

why not do a search on shared homes in Brighton and see how they have set up their rooms. 

Mike-And-Jane0
Level 10
England, United Kingdom

@Adrian2250 I think more and more people, even in the UK, appreciate a decent sized bed. For me a double is unacceptable, a Queen just about ok and a King preferable. Anything beyond a King is a pain with respect to fitting duvet covers etc.

I should add that we don't have soft headboards and have had no complaints. 4 pillows per bed seem to make people happy. I certainly would prefer a solid headboard to one that is stained in any way.

@Adrian2250  First off - it's nice that you've already set up a listing in anticipation of the room being complete, but I'd recommend keeping your calendar blocked and unbookable until it's ready. Any guest who books with you now might arrive with inaccurate expectations, having not had the chance to see the room and its dimensions.