A guest wants to change her reservation to another month which is cheaper.

Susan3667
Level 2
Faro District, Portugal

A guest wants to change her reservation to another month which is cheaper.

Hi, all.

I'm quite new to Airbnb.

I have a guest who is due to arrive in 2 weeks time (our peak season). She has already postponed the booking from the same dates last year due to travel complications which was perfectly OK.

She's just asked if she can change the holiday to October (our low season).

Our cancellation policy is strict so she would lose 50% if she cancelled instead of changing dates.

But if she has already paid 50% at the higher nightly rate - how does it work if I change her dates to the lower rate - does she just pay the difference? What about the service fee I get charged?

Also, at short notice to fill this high season cancellation, would anybody else be tempted to say, yes, no problem in changing to October, but at this short notice to fill the August dates, the price is the same?

4 Replies 4
Sandra856
Level 10
Copenhagen, Denmark

Hi @Susan3667 🙂

If I were in your situation I would write the guest (in a very friendly/kind way) and explain that with such short notice it could be difficult to get new guests - and you might end up with an unbooked calender in high season. You can explain that if she cancels - your calender will open up and in case the dates get rebooked you could offer her the last 50%. It is important the guest understands that it is difficult for you with such short notice but that you will gladly refund the last 50% in case you get rebooked. That is very fair. I usually stick to my strict cancellation policy when a guest wants to cancel (last minute) but I always offer a refund should someone new rebook. And I try to be as polite as possible :-). She can book the new dates in October if she wish after the cancellation and cross her fingers that someone new will rebook her old dates so she will get her last 50% back :-).