AIRNBN IS RUINING LONG TERM STAYS WITH THEIR HIGH FEES AND TAXES

Isis14
Level 2
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico

AIRNBN IS RUINING LONG TERM STAYS WITH THEIR HIGH FEES AND TAXES

I am a super host and have a modest open floor rental of 750 sq ft living and 750 sq ft patio. My listing shows a nice discount, from approx $1,000 usd to $700. but then when the renter tries to reserve they end up paying $200 more dollars due to airbnb service fees and occupancy taxes for 1 month or longer rentals! This is causing many of them to want to bargain. When I try, airnbnb doesn't show me exactly what I will be making.  In the end, I loose bookings and money.  I have complained. Between airnbnb's taxes and fees and the Mexican Government's taxes, they take 50% of my rental. I wind up with less than $500 bucks a month. I only have 1 place that I'm renting and I depend on it for a living especially due to covid pandemic.  It's becoming a loosing battle for me and I would like an articulated explanation as to why this is happening and how do other hosts feel about this?

9 Replies 9
Mike-And-Jane0
Level 10
England, United Kingdom

@Isis14 Airbnb isn't really suited to long term rentals as there is no contract with the host, no deposit collected and, as you say, high fees. 

I would find another route to market for long term lets if I were you.

Isis14
Level 2

air bnb a few months ago, were encouraging us to focus on long term and offer remote work thru emails and webinars. i spent some bucks trying to upgrade my place for long term. i hope they respond to this conversation. 

@Isis14 Airbnb encourage hosts to do lots of things that benefit Airbnb. It is up to hosts to ignore any suggestions that are likely to damage the host financially or otherwise.