(ALERT) - 1st AirBnb experience gone wrong, watch out for scams like this

Ena13
Level 4
London, United Kingdom

(ALERT) - 1st AirBnb experience gone wrong, watch out for scams like this

Hello fellow AirBnb Hosts,

I started renting my spare room about 4 months ago, and I must say, my first experience was a catastrophe

My guest reached out and said he is interested in renting the room for 2 weeks, but he would like to book for 1 night just to see whether he is comfortable in the house. Being a rookie, I though that's fair - and agreed to it! Soon after he settled in he said he loves the room and is going to stay the next 2 weeks, BUT then proceed to let me know that he is waiting for his funds to be transferred to his UK account since he just moved to London from the USA. This was supposed to happen tomorrow when he was going to book the rest of his stay. Since this was my first guest I wanted to make this experience positive for both of us so I agreed to it - silly me. Red light should've gone ON when he proposed paying in cash for his entire stay - I of course, respectfully declined.

Long story short - after being way too understanding about his booking "habits" for a week (only booked for 2 nights at the time), he then failed to make a booking for the following night. And the one after that. We have talked, and every time we did he said he is just about to make a booking. But he didn't..

Unfortunately, this became a source of stress and I have politely asked him to make the rest of the bookings on that day, or I'll have to ask him to leave, as I don't feel comfortable in my own home anymore. He managed to book for the next 4 nights as he didn't have anywhere else to go. We kept the atmosphere positive, and were respectful towards each other, and even had enjoyable conversations afterwards, so I thought "great, didn't turn out that bad after all".