Accepting booking requests

Helen807
Level 2
London, United Kingdom

Accepting booking requests

Hi All,

I am hoping to get a little bit of advice... I am new to Airbnb (as a host) and not sure about some things. I thought I was on Instant booking (only guests with good reviews) but it seems I am not. I have just had a request to book and as it was last night I had a message from Airbnb saying I only have 15 hours left to accept or decline or they will block out that weekend. Anyway, I felt a little pressured so I accepted. The person has only joined airbnb this month, has no pic and only a mobile number, no other id. I feel a little uneasy about this. Should I? Or does this happen a lot? She has sent a brief message saying she loves where I live. I have replied saying i look forward to hosting her. I have since realised there is a big festival in my town that weekend and it's quite a 'party' weekend. Should I message her more and ask for id? Or try and get a bit more info? I don't know if I am worrying unnecessarily.. I know it's too late to really do much about it now but any advice would be very gratefully received. Thanks, Helen

23 Replies 23

@Gordon0In UK, do hotels require to see guests identification when they check in? If hotel can do it, just wonder why Airbnb hosts cannot.

Checking ID is has been a normal practice taken by many hosts to make sure that the guests stay are the guests who booked. With Airbnb's loosen control in its user profile, a guest could easily change the photo, name, etc of their profile. And a user can book for somebody else. Therefore, a host does not know who is coming to stay in the house until checkin time.