Additional fee for guests who are home all the time

Alys0
Level 2
Savannah, GA

Additional fee for guests who are home all the time

Hello! I’m new to hosting this year and I’m trying to figure out a fair way to approach a problem I’ve now had a few times with guests.

My city only allows me to rent per month due to our zoning, so I have followed the law and done long-term bookings only. This has led to, unfortunately, a scenario where I feel like I have a vampiric roommate who never helps with housework, uses all my paper products and hot water, and in a few cases never seems to leave the house!

In the case of one guest it was all of the above, which has led me to a few amendments to my listing. First, I’ve included that my house is not suitable as a work-live space. The guest in question had a job for a few days, but quit it very shortly after arriving. Since after that they were home, in the room, I would say 98% of the time. Since I work at home, needless to say this is awkward for me, and led me to amend my listing to clarify that I am not able to host work-live, but am happy to recommend local co-working spaces.

The second change I am thinking about is where I would love some feedback from other hosts. I am contemplating adding a more full-service option to my listing, where, for an additional $100 I would do additional cleaning, bedding changes, dishes, and provide all sundries. Alternately I have thought about increasing my cleaning fee (currently $50, to cover professional cleaning of a white rug), to cover this. I hesitate because some people do want to provide their own TP, dish soap, etc, and have the agency to run and empty the dishwasher without handholding (unlike my current guy, who has told me he hates cleaning)-- so is it important to keep this optional?

Thanks so much, Airbnb-fam, for your thoughts!

8 Replies 8