Advice for a reasonable partial refund to a guest for a broken appliance?

Melissa567
Level 2
New York, NY

Advice for a reasonable partial refund to a guest for a broken appliance?

Hi Friends,

I've been renting our mountain cabin for a few years through Air BnB, generally it has gone well.

Our fridge just broke this past weekend, and we have a renter coming up on Friday (it's Sunday.)

We aren't sure we can get it fixed or replaced by the time they arrive. I reached out to let her know she should bring a cooler for the weekend and to apologize. 

She has requested a partial refund.

I agree it is awful, but I didn't want to to cancel as I know the area is tough to find other housing.

Any advice on how to calculate the refund?

thank you!

19 Replies 19

@Melissa567 there really is no standard way to calculate what the refund should be.

For one guest, the refrigerator might have meant almost nothing... just a way to chill water.

For a different guest, the refrigerator might have been critical: they have an ice cream cake that needs to stay frozen until a birthday dinner the next night.

And the difference isn't just limited to differences between guests. For some listings, the guests do little more than sleep in the property at night, while spending the entire day out and about (listings with great location).

For other listings, staying on the property is the reason guests choose the place (the facilities being the key appeal.)

Offer some small but reasonable amount. See what the guest says. Negotiate. Respect each other. If the guest is reasonable, hopefully you can reach a number that equally pleases and displeases both parties.

Hi @Matthew285 --  thank you - Yes, you are correct - as they are travelling far to get to our place, I'm sure cooking out of a cooler is not ideal.

I'd like to come up with something that supports the need for them to purchase a cooler, and makes them feel liek tehre is still value in our beautiful veiws and home.