After booking, what emails does airbnb send out to the booking guest?

Suy62
Level 2
Kemah, TX

After booking, what emails does airbnb send out to the booking guest?

I'm a host newbie and just got my first confirmed booking after 2 weeks.  I would like to know what emails airbnb send to the guests after the booking is confirmed?  I don't want to send guests the same emails that they would get automatically from airbnb.  My moto is to keep it simple.

So after booking, I know that airbnb send out a confirmation with the booking date and prices.  Is it correct that they will send another email (with house manual, check in / check out info, wifi password, door code, etc.) a week before the guests arrive?  I don't want to email the guests if they are getting the same email from airbnb.  And when the guests check out, does airbnb send them an email to remind them to post a review?

I don't know why airbnb does not explain this since it's important, to me anyway.  I also post my vacation rental or VRBO and they too did not explain it.  Thanks in advance.

3 Replies 3
Rowena29
Level 10
Australia

Hi @Suy62 

Weclome to hosting and to the community boards.

I can answer some but not all of your questions.

Firstly airbnb most definitely remind guests about reviewing after they have checked out - several times. They will also remind you as a host

You may or may not want to consider letting your guests know how the star ratings actually work - many guests think leaving you a 4 stars overall is a great thing to do - many do not realise anything less than 5 can be a bit disastrous.   Some hosts think this is less than classy, other's feel it is almost a necessity because of the ridiculous set up of the system. If you search reviews in the search bar of this forum you will get links to lots of threads and opinions