Air Conditioning Not Working - Reasonable Refund?

Answered!
Katrina27
Level 1
Toronto, Canada

Air Conditioning Not Working - Reasonable Refund?

Hi there,

I have been hosting for many months and had great reviews. Unfortunately, my AC was not working for my guests who left after a three-day weekend stay. I had a technician come prior to their stay (the night before) but he could not fix the problem. I made arrangements to come once they left. (The alternative was to have him come back during their visit!) Instead of canceling the reservation last minute, I let them know in a friendly and apologetic email. I got a response saying no problem and did not hear from them during the weekend.

However, upon check out, now they ask for a partial refund. Please note, my rate is extremely reasonable AND includes parking. What is appropriate? I don't want to be a jerk and pride myself on being a great host but I also go out of my way to accommodate guests and leave my house - it has to be worth my while.

Thanks so much in advance.

1 Best Answer
Ciarán12
Level 2
San Diego, CA

You need to give them a refund. You failed to supply them with what they had paid for and what you had sold them. All your excuses in the world are great but don't fix their problem. Why should they be out of pocket for your faulty AC unit?

View Best Answer in original post

20 Replies 20