AirBnB or Roommates?

Emily237
Level 2
Boston, MA

AirBnB or Roommates?

Hello to Boston hosts,

I'm looking for advice on whether or not I should search for roomates vs. AirBnB host full-time. I recently purchased a condo close to Jackson Square (orange line is less than 10 min walk) and will have 2 extra rooms. The problem is that it is "off season" for people looking for a place to live full time so I thought about letting out the space on AirBnB until it's June/September so I'm looking to be a full time host between December - June approximately.

My wonders:

- Do you all think that the rooms will rent decently/frequently?  I've been hosting for 2 years now but only when I'm out of town for the holidays and my current place is in the North End so it's like comparing apples and oranges.

- What do you think would be a reasonable rate? I'm hoping for $50 a night for a private room. The place is VERY new and has washer/dryer, a parking spot, and dishwasher, which guests will have access to.

- Will the location be difficult to rent? I personally think it's a great neighborhood but some folks might consider it "up and coming." What do you all think?

Anyways, I appreciate any advice you can give because it feels like a big decision to make (before I purchase more beds, furniture, linens, etc). Thank you for reading!

15 Replies 15
Susan151
Level 10
Somerville, MA

We are entering the "slow" season in Boston. However at $50 a night, you should do well enough, depending on how many amenities you are offering. I would not oversell the neighborhood, in fact I would be honest about the rough edges, and instead emphasis your proximity to the orange line, which is excellent. I could imagine people doing research or short stints at any of the hospitals around NE Medical Center being interested, as an example. There are tons of conferences all winter long in the Seaport which wouldn't be that inconvenient.