Airbnb Blocked My Calendar, Said I'm Under Investigation and Has Given Me No Information for Two Days.

Leslie79
Level 3
Oakland, CA

Airbnb Blocked My Calendar, Said I'm Under Investigation and Has Given Me No Information for Two Days.

Hi All

I am in a supremely Kafka-esque Airbnb world. 

I have been hosting since 2012. I've hosted well over 2000 people, have a 4.8 to 4.9 host rating and am a superhost. I love hosting.

Two days ago, a woman would not leave my home. When I tried to get her to leave she said I was assaulting her and called Airbnb and the police. When the police arrived, they convinced her to leave and they told me that they were familiar with her and that she was mentally ill. 

The next morning, I noticed that all of my open listing nights had been blocked by Airbnb. The reservations I already had had not been cancelled, so I had a couple of full nights. Airbnb support said that I am being investigated and would be contacted. I have not been contacted and have continued to reach out to Airbnb support. No one I have reached can tell me anything except to wait. I am now losing $200-$300/day and can get no information. 

Does anyone have any experience like this or any suggestions? Does Airbnb have an ombudsperson? 

Help, please!!! I am feeling quite desperate about this. 

26 Replies 26
Helen3
Level 10
Bristol, United Kingdom

Hello @Leslie79 

I'm sorry to hear of your experience. When you had this situation with the guest, did you contact Airbnb when you needed to ask her to leave, so they had your side of the story before the guest contacted them?

As the police were called, could you share the police report?

And are you sure your calendar is blocked because of this guest and not because of Covid restrictions in your area - I thought there were now travel restrictions in California?

Certainly in the UK Ombudsman are for public bodies, banks and utility companies rather than multinationals.