Airbnb Blocked My Calendar, Said I'm Under Investigation and Has Given Me No Information for Two Days.

Leslie79
Level 3
Oakland, CA

Airbnb Blocked My Calendar, Said I'm Under Investigation and Has Given Me No Information for Two Days.

Hi All

I am in a supremely Kafka-esque Airbnb world. 

I have been hosting since 2012. I've hosted well over 2000 people, have a 4.8 to 4.9 host rating and am a superhost. I love hosting.

Two days ago, a woman would not leave my home. When I tried to get her to leave she said I was assaulting her and called Airbnb and the police. When the police arrived, they convinced her to leave and they told me that they were familiar with her and that she was mentally ill. 

The next morning, I noticed that all of my open listing nights had been blocked by Airbnb. The reservations I already had had not been cancelled, so I had a couple of full nights. Airbnb support said that I am being investigated and would be contacted. I have not been contacted and have continued to reach out to Airbnb support. No one I have reached can tell me anything except to wait. I am now losing $200-$300/day and can get no information. 

Does anyone have any experience like this or any suggestions? Does Airbnb have an ombudsperson? 

Help, please!!! I am feeling quite desperate about this. 

26 Replies 26

Not sure what you mean. I never did get any kind of response. My account just came back up with no contact, inquiry, explanation. Any advice for the future would be great. I manage about 125-150 reservations a month on the property I live on and it's likely something unfortunate will happen again. It would be nice to know who to contact. The company behaved badly in this instance. It's unlike them. In general, they are good. Thanks. 

Leslie79
Level 3
Oakland, CA

@Nick

I'd love to hear from you either through DM or this forum. Thanks