American guests

Jo620
Level 4
Wokingham, United Kingdom

American guests

Hi everyone ,

This is my first year of hosting. I have my ever first US couple staying with me .

How comfortable are you at hosting the Americans after their covid cases in their country . Would you host them ? just intrigued 

17 Replies 17
Till-and-Jutta0
Host Advisory Board Alumni
Stuttgart, Germany

We expect a Texan family in two weeks. US is no more a risk area, and we can be sure that the guests have a negative PCR test (airline requirement). And they are vaccinated.

Happy to host them.

Pat271
Level 10
Greenville, SC

That’s interesting. Our US media must be keeping something from us, because from what I can see, we are no worse off than many other countries, especially since the Delta variant has taken the world by storm. 

Branka-and-Silvia0
Level 10
Zagreb, Croatia

@Jo620  we are off-site hosts so we don't share the space with our guests but we meet them at arrival and clean after them. We don't care where they are from our procedure is always the same bc everyone can be infected and contagious, an American same as my neighbour, vaccinated same as non vaccinated and tests are not a guarantee either.

Actually, we are happy with oversees guests bc they have to go to the quarantine so we had more 2-weeks stays in the last few months than in 4 years before 🙂

Kath9
Level 10
Albany, Australia

@Jo620, frankly I'm surprised at your question. If you lived in a country with extremely low infection rates, I'd maybe understand your concern. But the UK??? Aren't you concerned about your UK guests? Seriously, if you're worried about exposing yourself to the possibility of Covid from your guests, I'd stop hosting altogether (I have).

Elaine701
Level 10
Balearic Islands, Spain

Is this another Daily Mail thing?

You crack me up ha, ha!

Pete69
Level 10
Los Angeles, CA