Are guests becoming more disrespectful?

Tara1
Level 3
Ann Arbor, MI

Are guests becoming more disrespectful?

This might be crazy, but I have noticed guests becoming more disrespectful over the years and I'm wondering if other hosts have seen the same.

I have hosted my home on Airbnb for 3 years. I have had over 60 bookings. I have always raved about how respectful my guests have been until the past few months. I have had some very bad experiences.  I'm wondering - as Airbnb is becoming more popular, are we getting more people on the platform who are treating our homes like hotels?  We rent our personal home so I am worried about continuing to list on the site if this keeps happening. 

94 Replies 94
Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Russell49  Expectations of others go hand-in-hand with disappointment and blaming others for the disappointment. Those who don't have a lot of expectations experience less disappointment and are grateful for even small kindnesses.  

I agree Sarah. Part of the problem is that there is no consistency (which can be good). Guests that get extra complimentary items at one place, will expect it from the next accommodation. Guests are booking your room/home-not what's in your pantry or fridge. The discount is enough in itself and all else should be appreciated.I have noticed it is usually the crowd of 50 year olds that are the biggest whingers. I have had guests complain about the variety of complimentary teas, etc....these are the guests who will be unforgiving in reviews. These are also the guests who I will rate as harshly in reviews.

Russell49
Level 10
Katoomba, Australia