Avoiding the party crowds?

Chris2003
Level 3
Tenby, United Kingdom

Avoiding the party crowds?

Hi guys, I've been hosting for about 3 years now, but I've had some MAJOR issues with disrespectful guests/parties recently.

Last week the police were called by neighbours because there was a drunken pool party going on until 4am (only 4 guests). The week before, there were bottles, cans and nitrous oxide canisters overflowing the bins. (5 guests). We've also had issues with people playing loud music.. even though we've got signs up telling people it's 'strictly prohibited'.

We've got strict house rules, but it seems some guests are just not reading them or straight up ignoring them.

It always seems to be guests with no reviews - but a LOT of my guests have no reviews. I'm not sure I can afford to only host people with reviews? AirBnB penalises hosts who decline reservation requests?

Has anyone noticed a surge in this kind of behaviour post Covid.. any tips to prevent it? 

26 Replies 26
Inna22
Level 10
Chicago, IL

@Chris2003 I used to have issues with this one but it has gotten better mainly because I think I found the right tools. I have multiple to prevent overcrowding but that does not seem to be a problem here. Based on what you are experiencing, I will recommend the following:

1. collecting IDs from all guests in the group. People will be far more responsible when they know you know where to find them.
  2. I have a contract with a local security firm and I put in the listing that I will charge a $200 fee if they have to come out. Perhaps you can just put the warning and not have the contract 🙂
  3. Have a welcome message very well organized and not too wordy outlining check in, check out, your most important rules and repercussions for not following them. Make it easy to read