Basic Requirements - toilet paper!

Jane563
Level 10
Brighton, United Kingdom

Basic Requirements - toilet paper!

I am very fortunate in that I have a Monday-Friday MSc student. Before she left on Friday morning she said that she wishes to stay this week, provided her university doesn’t close and no travel restrictions come in. She asked what would happen with her money if things change over the weekend.

I very much doubt if I will get anyone else this coming week and told her to book on Sunday evening, just in case things change and said I would keep the room. I also promised her I would refund if she has to go home before Friday. I am talking about a very good guest (who I left in my home, while I went away for a few days) who has booked with me lots of times.

My problem is toilet roll. I usually buy a big pack once a month, but my supplies are starting to dwindle. I resisted the temptation to panic buy and now I can’t get more!  Supplying it is a requirement that I won’t be able to meet unless things change in the UK.

I’m thinking of asking her to bring some in exchange for a discount!!!

48 Replies 48
Tom2550
Level 2
Orange, AU

It is not an unreasonable request

Donald28
Level 10
Lithia Springs, GA

How does an airbnb host not have enough toilet paper? That's like the very 1st requirement or STR'ing. 

Helen350
Level 10
Whitehaven, United Kingdom

- Because many shops have sold out @Donald28 ! As @Jane563  alludes, people in the UK are 'panic buying', (anticipating a lockdown), with the result that shops are EMPTY of toilet paper... That's the point of her post, she can't provide the basic necessities, cos shops are selling out!

@Donald28  Because people are hoarding it, that's why.  Shelves are empty!

@Jane563  I would tell your guest straightforwardly that as a result of the panic buying you are low on toilet paper, toilet paper hoarding has been all over the news worldwide, so I would assume it won't come as a shock to your guest.