Basic requirements issue

Shannon176
Level 1
Halifax, Canada

Basic requirements issue

I've been hosting for a few years, and really take pride in how I present my space and interact with guests. So today, I was very dissapointed to learn that I'm not meeting basic requirements because I declined a booking last week. I'm a superhost, so this really bothers me that it could effect my status come April 1st. I'm starting to lose trust in Airbnb, as all these small changes are making me feel less like I'm in control of my bookings. I rarely decline people, but when I do I shouldn't be penalized for it. It's my apartment, and it should be my decision who I feel comfortable with in my space. I'm now thinking about taking my listing down. It's unfortunate that Airbnb doesn't value it's relationships with long term hosts, as I've put a lot into my listing and giving guests a great experience.

10 Replies 10
Gillian19
Level 10
St Leonards, Australia

@Shannon176 Unless they (Airbnb that is) have decided that a TV is now an essential?!

Edie9
Level 9
Canada

@Shannon176 I too have been given the "1 thing to work on" in Basic requirements/accepting reservations and was a little bit more than "very disappointed "! I regularly get people who have no profile, no picture and no reviews. As well they don't answer questions and the only email accompanying the request is, "Is this space available? "! Airbnb needs to take into account the very real and good reasons why hosts decline a request or inquiry. I am beginning to question if $ is their motivation rather than having a positive experience for hosts and guests.

James165
Level 10
Atlanta, GA

The changes they have made are bad for hosts. Whether pushing us to book without knowing the guests or determining what is "essential" for us, even thought guests and hosts prefer something different. It's been a good run for me for two years, but I'm guessing I'll be leaving Airbnb by the end of this summer.

Sharon427
Level 2