Bugs in the towel? Bites that look like Mosquito bites or hives?

Bugs in the towel? Bites that look like Mosquito bites or hives?

Hi all,

I've been hosting for 3 years now and keep all my rooms really clean, but a current guest of mine who has been staying for a week now reported to me last night that she received a few bites while in the room she's staying in. The bites look like mosquito bites or hives, not bed bugs so I felt a bit reassured that this may go away after she clean the towels and sheets. Today, she updated me that she found the bug and sent me this picture:

8a671fca-d259-4aff-9336-c67ef1d9eb1d.jpeg

Does anyone know what that is?

Please advise if anyone has experience with this. To be honest, this is quite stressful thinking about the worse case (whether guest will sue me, future of reservations, and the guests in the 3 other bedrooms that are in the same house).

Providing a refund for her remaining stays is something I don't mind at all. I'm also planning to be transparent and to share that there may be some sort of bug with the other guests in the same house. 

I also came across this thread that seems to talk about bed bug scams though I don't feel like the guest has been pushy about things, but rather concerned about her bites and contaminating her belongings.

https://community.withairbnb.com/t5/Help/Bed-Bug-Scam/m-p/1320587#M286119

26 Replies 26
Branka-and-Silvia0
Level 10
Zagreb, Croatia

@Henley0  this bug is slim, bedbugs are more "round" shaped.

You offered her a refund for nights not spent. She complained to Airbnb bc she wants a refund for all nights, even spent. I also had guests once, who tried the same, well-known scam.

Btw, dog flies don't bite humans but cat flies do. Cat flies are very tiny, much smaller than this one in the picture, black, round and they jump.

@Branka-and-Silvia0 

Thanks so much for the info.