Burden of declining guests who don't meet Airbnb's requirements and my house rules

Yan3
Level 10
Hong Kong

Burden of declining guests who don't meet Airbnb's requirements and my house rules

Hello fellow hosts,

I'm still relatively new to hosting.  So far, it's been a good learning experience, but occasionally, I get requests from guests who are not verified,  nor do they meet my house rules.  In such cases, I have to make up sensible reasons to decline their requests, and I have to worry that if I decline too much, my listing will get delisted.  So that's why I feel it's a burden.

I specifically checked off "Require guests to go through verification" and also selected "Guests who meet Airbnb's requirements and are recommended by other hosts" only, which means that the guest can book only if they meet the following criteria:

Confirmed email address
Introductory message
Confirmed phone number
Agree to your House Rules (Not child-friendly, no pets, etc.)
Profile photo
Payment information

Airbnb should automatically block unqualified guests from contacting me.  But still, I am getting requests from people who don't match the criteria.  How is it possible for these requests to come through?

What is your solution to this problem?

Thanks,

Yan

20 Replies 20

How do you reach out to AirBnb to get help resolving an issue? There are dates blocked in my calender, that should not be. What can I do? Best, G

Problem  - they can make a request and block your calendar if they have started the verification process, but not completed it. We have had this twice and it's quite annoying that AirBnB allows technically unverified guests to do this.

@Gerry-And-Rashid0 Agreed., and more... I was quite surprised and annoyed that a guest who requested a booking had no payment method on file with AirBnB, but the dates remained blocked for 48 hours while they "worked that out".

Dede0
Level 10
Austin, TX