Calling all Tucson, Arizona HOSTS

Calling all Tucson, Arizona HOSTS

I would like to start a feed for Hosts in Tucson Arizona.  Perhaps one where we can post helpful bits of advice.  Things like recommendations on good house cleaners, accountants that are especially good with vacation home rental needs/requirements, etc.  If you are hosting in Tucson Arizona and have any ideas or suggestions please post them here.  I'll start with a question - anyone have a recommendations for more "local" hotspots to go for things to do.  I am not looking for the ordinary "tourist" stuff that everyone knows about.  Looking forward to some ideas - Thanks!

92 Replies 92
Virginia24
Level 1
San Antonio, TX

Hello John and Kathy. I also want to start an Airbnb in Tucson. Do you guys know of a good management company in Tucson. We travel a lot. Hope to hear from you. Thanks!

Hi Virginia, 

I saw your question about property management companies. I have some experience with this, although I am not using one now. I used Tucson Vacation Rentals for four years and was quite pleased with them. I actually live overseas nine months out of the year, so I felt it was necessary. But last summer, TVR posted my house on airbnb, and I realized I could do that myself and hire a reliable cleaning service, and then I really didn't feel I needed a property manager. I have used airbnb as a traveler for years, but this winter is my first winter to host. My first guest arrives in December. 

TVR's commission is 30%. That's another reason I decided not to continue using them. I took real estate classes in property management and one of the classes was led by Steve at Blue Fox Properties, but he said they don't do furnished rentals usually. I was impressed with him, but have never used Blue Fox. If you feel you need a prop managment company though, it might be worth contacting him.