Can I automatically set a minimum gap between bookings?

James1278
Level 2
Chandler, AZ

Can I automatically set a minimum gap between bookings?

I'm new to AirBnB.  I searched and I think I have a request that is quite different from what most hosts want.  I'd like to always have at least one full day free between the check-in of a new guest and the check-out of the previous guest.  I want this time to make sure the house is clean and stocked, thoroughly inspect it, and perform repairs and maintenance inside the home or other work that is likely to distub guests (such as leaf-blowing, tree-trimming, lawn mowing, etc.). 

It seems like I could do this manually by blocking one day at the beginning and end of every confirmed reservation, but there are two downsides:  1.  There's a possiblity that the next guest will book before I have time to manually block the days in between and 2. the blocked days will remain blocked when a guest cancels.  I'd really like an automated way to do this.

13 Replies 13
Branka-and-Silvia0
Level 10
Zagreb, Croatia

@James1278

go to host / listing / availability / reservations preferences - edit / preparation time (block 1 night before and after each reservation)

Excellent, thanks!  A few settings were not presented or discussed when creating my initial listing.  Looks like this is another one and "preparation" is the magic search term I didn't use.

Cathie19
Level 10
Darwin, Australia

Hi @James1278

@Branka-and-Silvia0 is correct. Once you change your settings, the automated blocking of dates will occur.  But always check ...

So I still need to manually block days before/after existing reservations, and I should always check to make sure it's working like it's supposed to.  Thanks for the heads up!