Can I decline superhost status?

Can I decline superhost status?

I've been doing Airbnb for over 4 years! We love doing Airbnb and sharing our homes with other people.  But lets be honest my listings are older "rustic" places.  We advertise them as a budget option and have prices usually set 25-50% below hotel prices.  Most people book our places because of this cheap price. We also have really good location and amenities. Because of this we are booked 98% of the time! Anyway our ratings have been decent ... we usually average a 4.5-4.7 rating but never near superhost status which is fine with me because we're doing great!

HOWEVER I am now really worried!  We just got made a superhost!  I really do not wanted to be a superhost as I am worried that people will expect so much more!  Our places are budget places not superhost places.  I think Airbnb somehow made us a superhost by accident by changing some of their policies due to Covid.  

Can I decline?

Thanks!

Stephan

8 Replies 8
Debra300
Level 10
Gros Islet, Saint Lucia

@Stephan-And-Skye0,

Your superhost status was granted based upon the experiences your guests shared in their reviews.  If you continue to provide the same level of service, you can expect to continue to receive superhost status, whether you like it or not.

@Stephan-And-Skye0

You can have your superhost badge turned off (while still retaining the supposed 'benefits', but you'll need to contact Airbnb to do so.

"If you wish to turn off your Superhost badge, please contact Airbnb. Turning off your badge does not affect your Superhost status; you’ll still be able to enjoy the benefits of being a Superhost. If you want to turn your badge back on, please contact Airbnb"

Superhost Terms and Conditions
https://www.airbnb.ie/superhost/terms

Penelope
Kath9
Level 10
Albany, Australia