Cancelling an Instant Booking (how to cancel without penalty?)

Ansar0
Level 2
Gold Coast, Australia

Cancelling an Instant Booking (how to cancel without penalty?)

Hi guys,

I am new to airbnb, and I have now got a few guests lined up, and hopefully more as my calender gets closer to opening up. I have a slight situation right now, where a very reliable and trustworthy tenant has requested to stay a little bit longer, which will overlap with my guests booking.

It was booked with instant booking, and the guest seems very nice. However, I have to cancel the booking.

When I started going through the options to cancel the reservation, there were warnings on every page about how I may lose my eligibility for Superhost status and other issues.

I read that cancelling "instant book" bookings are penalty free and should have no effect on my account status, but cancelling it through the website seems to be very daunting and will probably leave a big old negative on my brand new hosting account. 

Please advise on how to go about this, it would be highly appreciated! 

Thank you in advance. 

21 Replies 21
Kathie21
Level 10
England, United Kingdom

How long ago was the booking made that you now want to cancel?  If it was made before the existing guest asked to stay longer, then I would tell the existing guest that unfortunately s/he can't because you already have a booking.  If it was made after the request to stay longer then you need to update your calendar more promptly and will have to swallow whatever penalty Airbnb decrees.

Ansar0
Level 2
Gold Coast, Australia

Hi Kathie,

Thank you for the reply. The person currently in the apartment is a tenant (not from AirBNB) who has been using it as a go to between travelling NZ/Australia for work purposes. I have now cleared this up with AirBNB and blocked my calender until I am sure he has left, and I've had a chance to spruce everything up (probably won't be necessary as he is a very nice older gentleman).