Central Heating Control

Anna1455
Level 2
Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Central Heating Control

Dear All,

I am new to hosting and looking for some advice regarding central heating and hot water control when guests are in my own home. 

Currently when I host I move out of my apartment completely and hope that guests respect the house rules that I have left for them. I have just completed my first hosting experience and although it was pleasant enough when I arrived home I had found they had left the heating and hot water on 24/7, and my apartment was so hot there was condensation on the windows! Now I understand that I do live in Scotland and especially travellers from hotter countries may find it very cold here. However over this past week it has been 25-27 degrees in Scotland so I really do feel it was not necessary to have the heating on. Also within my very short written house manual I have provided for reading, I do make guests aware they do not need the hot water on for showering as it is electric. I have even provided written instructions beside my thermostat informing how to turn the heating and hot water on for a short while however my previous guests have overridden this as turned them both on for the whole duration of their stay. So I am a bit disappointed and not looking forward to my next utility bill!!

Right now I feel I only have two options. My thermostat is located within a storage cupboard within the hallway. So should I buy a lock for the cupboard?  I already store some personal things in the cupboard anyway and up to now I have just hoped that guests will respect my things and not go through it. This way I could control the heating usage and protect my things. Or should I buy a protective covering for the thermostat and set up a timer? My only concern with limiting guest usage would be receiving negative reviews from cold guests who cannot control the heating on the days that can be wet and cold here in bonnie bonnie Scotland.