Communication with host...

Kyle448
Level 1
Weaverville, NC

Communication with host...

So, I cancelled a booking yesterday,  and it was because I felt uneasy about the host due to a lack of communication, in my opinion. What really made me feel uneasy was that when I sent the booking request, the host only responded by accepting the booking, no other communication and no answer to what I inquired about in my message to him. I sent him another message a day or so later asking him for clarification on surveillance on the property which he eventually responded to and only answered with something like "there are cameras covering the outside areas" or something to that effect. Anyway, to me, it doesn't seem very warm, welcoming, inviting, or trustworthy. So my wife and I decided to cancel.

Fast forward... I booked another listing for that night and the same thing happened. The host only accepted the booking request. No message.

I know I'm new to Airbnb and have only had one real experience with the way things work but the other host we booked with for the other dates in town responded with a message. The host I booked with for our honeymoon responded with a message. My question for you is this... Is it common for hosts to only respond to booking requests with an acceptance and no message to the guest. It just seems odd to me. You can't be too careful these days.

11 Replies 11
Alexandra316
Level 10
Lincoln, Canada

@Kyle448I'd say in and of itself, it's not a danger sign. I've stayed with hosts who send thanks for booking messages and those who don't, and I've never had a bad experience. That being said, I do send them myself, because I think it's just common courtesy. 

I would look more at the host's overall track record. Do they have good reviews? Do they have many reviews? If the answer is yes, I would worry less. If this is a newer host, I might be getting concerned.