Cozy vs sterile

Michelle1851
Level 10
Littleton, CO

Cozy vs sterile

Hi, I am somewhat new to hosting. The reason I started my 2 listings was because I had such good experiences in staying in Airbnb’s previously.  

Before starting I read the forums and suggestions and tried to supply what everyone else did.  

For the first time since operating an Airbnb, we are staying in one, I am really discouraged, it’s a fine place but nothing really to stand out.  The photos were so beautiful, but it is sterile, no games, no coffee, the bare minimum.  I was hoping to get my spouse to switch to Airbnb’s for business travel, I’m afraid now he’ll never try another one.  

So I’m just curious about amenities and coziness?  What do others feel is important when staying at an Airbnb?

20 Replies 20
Stephanie1933
Level 10
Christchurch, New Zealand

@Basha0 I am exactly the same as you, minus the interior designer part! A comfortable bed, quality linen is a must for us. Our furniture is good quality and so are the beds. A fully equipped kitchen because we appeal to families and groups and many like to cook! A large bbq as well. What I do love about Airbnb is the eclectic mix of hosts and places to stay. Keep up the good work 🙂 

Michelle1851
Level 10
Littleton, CO

Basha your home sounds exactly what I was looking for, comfortable yet with the amenities I desire:) There’s something for everyone, I now know my preferences. 

Sharon683
Level 10
Los Angeles, CA

I try and make my place warm and cozy by adding nice smelling candles, robes, having wine glasses in the rooms, a nice plant on their work station desk, magazines on the bookshelf, fresh fruit, oatmeal packs, crackers, popcorn and health bars accompanied with mini water bottles coffee and tea.  I spoil my guest.  I think it is the southern lifestyle I grew up with.  I also just purchased a suitcase stand for their luggage.  I love to make people feel at home. 

Fred13
Level 10
Placencia, Belize